All-Party Group Elects two new Chairs at AGM

Wednesday 23 October 2019.

Members of the All-Party Parliamentary Group on General Aviation (APPG-GA) have elected two co-Chairs to take over organising the group after the departure of former Chair Grant Shapps MP.

Mark Pritchard MP and Lord Byron Davies of Gower will Co-Chair the APPG, dividing responsibility for leading on the group’s activities in Parliament.

Mr Pritchard said “It is a privilege to take the helm of one of the largest and most active of all APPGs in Parliament.  I can’t wait to get stuck in to its busy agenda.  The decision to Co-Chair the APPG was taken by members to reflect the huge contribution of the House of Lords to the APPG-GA’s work and I couldn’t ask for a more experienced Co-Chair than Byron.”

Mr Pritchard’s constituency in Shropshire is home to RAF Cosford and the Cosford Air Museum. He is also well connected to the airline industry through his previous parliamentary work on the Transport Select Committee and other associated aviation Parliamentary groups.

Lord Davies is both a former MP and former General Aviation Champion.  Whilst MP for Gower, he established the APPG-GA and has since worked closely with this group during his time outside of Parliament.

Commenting on his new appointment as co-Chair, Lord Davies said “It is a fantastic honour to return to the group I founded to support GA several years ago. The group has grown enormously and I look forward to continuing its valuable work during the next sitting.”


Notes to editors

  1. The minutes of the APPG- GA’s AGM can be found here and a copy of the accounts here.
  2. For more information, please contact James Shipp on 07955557351 or at