All-Party Parliamentary Group on General Aviation holds inaugural meeting of new Parliament

The All-Party Parliamentary Group (APPG) on General Aviation has held its inaugural meeting of the new Parliament, following the 2017 General Election.

At the meeting, which was held on Wednesday 28th June 2017 in Parliament, Grant Shapps MP was elected as the new Chair and the APPG’s mission statement and objectives for the Parliament were discussed and agreed as follows:

The All-Party Parliamentary Group on General Aviation promotes the objective – as set out by British Government – of making the United Kingdom the best country in the world for General Aviation, and to stimulate interest in the sector. Our goal is to ensure that General Aviation inspires both current and future generations to take up science, technology, engineering and mathematics, thereby creating high-tech jobs and growth in all nations and regions of our economy. In order to achieve this objective, the All-Party Parliamentary Group believes that a network of General Aviation airfields must be protected and enhanced by the government.

Grant Shapps said: “The All-Party Parliamentary Group on General Aviation seeks to be the strong voice in Parliament that general aviation needs to help promote jobs and growth in this country. We will seek to do this by inspiring young and old to look to the skies to help develop the kind of high-tech jobs and skills we all want to see. I am delighted to have been elected Chair and look forward to championing such an important part of our economy.”

As well as Grant’s election as Chair, Sir Roger Gale MP was elected as President of the APPG following Sir Gerald Howarth’s retirement from the House of Commons, and Kelly Tolhurst MP was re-elected as Treasurer. Amongst the new Vice-Chairs elected were Luke Pollard MP, the newly elected Labour MP for Plymouth, Sutton and Devonport, and Bill Grant MP, Conservative MP for Ayr, Carrick and Cumnock also elected in June.